Payments provides a suite of tools to help you monitor and grow your subscription base.
You can view a detailed breakdown of your revenue by visiting My Site(s) → Tools → Earn → Collect Payments
- Total earnings – shows all charges collected by Payments buttons on your site.
- Last 30 days – shows the revenue you’ve earned over the last 30 days.
- Next month – shows upcoming charges in the next 30 days. This assumes that nobody unsubscribes, and does not include any new subscribers.
You’ll find the list of your subscribers at My Site(s) → Tools → Earn → Collect Payments as well.
At the end of the list is a link for downloading a CSV file containing a list of your subscribers with their email addresses, subscription data, and other information. You can use that file to connect payments to any accounting or fulfillment systems you use.
Canceling a Subscription
Your subscribers can cancel any time from their WordPress.com accounts. You can also cancel their subscriptions from the subscriber list.
On the right side of the subscriber list, there is “three dots” menu:
Once you click “Cancel Subscription”, your subscriber will not be billed again. However, canceling will not refund the customer.
You can manage refunds yourself through your Stripe Dashboard. Follow the instructions here to issue a full or partial refund.
Managing Payment Plans
Under your subscriber list, you’ll find options for editing your payment plans (that is, the amounts).
After clicking the arrow on the right of that section, you’ll see:
Editing a Plan
To edit the details of an existing plan, click the three dots to the right of the plan and click Edit.
You can change:
- Renewal schedule
You can also add a “Pay what you want” option and the option to allow the same customer to sign up multiple times to the same plan.
If you change any prices, existing subscriptions will not be affected. They will continue renewing at the same rate they started with.
Deleting a Plan
To delete an existing plan, click the three dots to the right of the plan and click Delete.
NOTE: any existing subscriptions will continue. If you want to stop subscriptions for existing customers, please contact a Happiness Engineer.
The only thing left is for you to continue to add value by adding more content, so that your subscribers stick around!